Honor Council

Honor Council

Code of Honor

The Honor Council for the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing is a vehicle to formalize the behaviors that we value and to perpetuate the tradition and reputation of our fine school. 

Undergraduate

Alisha Bhimani alisha.bhimani@emory.edu

Chantal Rodriguez csrodr2@emory.edu

Anika Ampadu (alternate) aampadu@emory.edu

Hannah Heimbigner hheimbi@emory.edu

Jamesa Hines jhines4@emory.edu

Laila Nurani laila.k.nurani@emory.edu

Catherine Vaughn catherine.danielle.vaughn@emory.edu

Martha Hummer martha.hummer@emory.edu

Domoneek McCoy domoneek.mccoy@emory.edu

Macie Lunyong m.j.lunyong@emory.edu

MSN

Anna Sciortino anna.sciortino@emory.edu

Andrea Barrington andrea.barrington@emory.edu

Charlotte Bobbitt charlotte.bobbitt@emory.edu

PhD

Alexis Dunn alexis.b.dunn@emory.edu

Judith Wold, Chair jwold@emory.edu

George Grant ghgrant@emory.edu

Sally Lehr slehr@emory.edu

Jennifer Foster jwfoste@emory.edu

Lisa Muirhead lisa.muirhead@emory.edu

Phyllis Wright phyllis.p.wright@emory.edu

Catherine I. Vena cvena@emory.edu

From the Code of Ethics for Nursing Students:

Conduct with respect to nursing students can be considered under two general headings: academic and professional. Misconduct involves a violation of academic or professional principles as viewed by students, faculty, and colleagues. Violations within these areas will be processed by the Honor Council without regard to the sex, race, color, national or ethnic origin, age, veteran status, or disability of any of the participants.

Academic Misconduct

Academic misconduct is an offense generally defined as any action or inaction that is offensive to the integrity and honesty of the members of the academic community. This offense includes, but is not limited to, the following:

(a) Seeking, acquiring, receiving, or giving information about the conduct of an exam knowing that the release of such information has not been authorized;
(b) Plagiarizing;
(c) Seeking, using, giving, or obtaining unauthorized assistance or information in any academic assignment or examination;
(d) Intentionally giving false information to professors or instructors for the purpose of gaining academic advantage;
(e) Breach of any duties prescribed by this Code;
(f) Intentionally giving false evidence in any Honor Council hearing or refusing to give evidence when requested by the Honor Council.

Violation of Professional Ethics

Any action by students indicating dishonesty or lack of integrity in professional matters is considered a violation of professional ethics.* Actions of this nature should be reported to the Honor Council chair who will seek consultation with the dean if there is a question of whether the alleged infraction is in the purview of this Council. (*See Code of Ethics for Nursing Students, NSNA)

Suspected violations should be reported to any one of the Honor Council members. This can be done via e-mail, in person, or in writing. 
Any student and/or faculty within the School of Nursing can report suspected violations to the Honor Council.
All statements and any written materials used during the course of a hearing shall remain confidential information unless needed for implementation of recommendation and with the knowledge and permission of the accused. At the conclusion of each hearing where there is adjudged guilt, all related materials must be sealed and filed in the locked file of the dean for a period of not less than five (5) years. Any notations pertaining to the misconduct or the related proceedings on the official student record shall be left to the discretion of the Honor Council and the dean. Also in the instance where there is no adjudged guilt all related materials must be sealed and filed in the locked file of the dean for a period of not less than five (5) years.

From the Code of Ethics for Nursing Students:

After the hearing, the Honor Council shall promptly prepare a concise, but thorough, written summary of pertinent evidence and facts shall be transmitted to the dean of the Nursing School with the accompanying recommendation together with all documentary and physical evidence before the Council. The dean may impose the sanction(s) recommended or sanction(s) of greater or lesser severity. After receipt of the summary, the student shall be promptly notified by the dean in writing of his or her decision and the sanction(s) imposed.

Please direct any questions regarding the Honor Code and violations to the members of the Honor Council. 
To be considered for membership on the Honor Council, a student must be in good academic standing, that is, not on academic probation, and display qualities of honesty, integrity, and maturity. It is recommended that candidates have an interest in dealing with ethical issues, possess an ability to work under pressure, and be willing to commit time as required by the Council. The qualifications shall be read before any election of Council Representatives.