Points of Pride

Muirhead teaching

Distinguished Faculty

Our Distinguished Professors

Our students are taught by the best and brightest faculty who are recognized for being experts in the field of nursing.

School of Nursing faculty include:

  • 33 fellows of the American Academy of Nursing
  • 2 member of the National Academy of Medicine
  • 7 fellows of the American College of Nurse-Midwives
  • 9 fellows of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners
  • 5 Atlanta Business Chronicle Health Care Heroes
  • 7 March of Dimes Nurse of the Year recipients
  • 1 Georgia Professor of the Year Award winner
  • 4 Sigma Theta Tau Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame inductee

Recent Recognition

American Association of Nurse Practitioners June 2017Dr. Ursula Kelly will be inducted into the 2017 fellowship class.
American Association of Nurse Practitioners June 2016Drs. Lisa Muirhead and Rasheeta Chandler-Coley inducted into 2016 Fellowship class
Sigma Theta Tau InternationalJuly 2016Drs. Deborah Bruner, Elizabeth Corwin, and Linda McCauley are inducted into the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame.
American Society for Radiation Oncology Sept 2016Dr. Deborah Bruner's abstract, NRG Oncology/RTOG 0415, Phase 3 Noninferiority Study Comparing 2 Fractionation Schedules in Patients with Low-Risk Prostate Cancer:
Prostate Specific Quality of Life Results, is selected for plenary session of 58th conference and wins "Best of ASTRO" Awrard.
National League for Nursing Sept 2016Dr. Angela Amar is inducted into NLN's prestigious Academy for Nursing Education. 
American Academy of NursingOct 2016Drs. Sharon Close, Jennifer Foster, Patricia Riley, Suzanne Staebler, Holly Ann Williams, Kathryn Wood, and Kate Yeager are inducted into the 2016 fellowship class. 

National Academy of Medicine 

Oct 2016

Dr. Deborah Bruner is elected to the National Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine). 

March of Dimes of Georgia

Nov 2016

Drs. Rasheeta Chandler-Coley and Suzanne Staebler are selected for Nurse of the Year Awards in Informatics, Research & Evidence-Based Practice and Academic Education categories, respectively.

American College of Nurse-Midwives


Dr. MaryJane Lewitt was inducted as a Fellow of the ACNM

J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board


Dr. Jenny Foster received the William J. Fulbright Award 

Nursing Network on Violence Against Women International


Dr. Angela Amar received the Excellence in Practice and Policy Award 

American Association of Nurse Practitioners


Dr. Dian Evans was inducted into the AANP

American Association of Critical-Care Nurses


Dr. Ann Rogers received the Pioneering Spirit Award from the AACN

Oncology Nursing Society


Dr. Deborah Watkins Bruner was named the Oncology Nursing Society's 2015 Distinguished Nurse Researcher

Southern Nursing Research Society


Dr. Elizabeth Corwin received the SNRS Distinguished Researcher Award and Dr. Bonnie Jennings received the inaugural Research in Nursing & Health Authorship award

March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Award


Dr. Elizabeth Corwin was selected as a March of Dimes Nurse of the Year in the academic education category

National League for Nursing


Dr. Elizabeth Downes was inducted into the National League for Nursing's Academy of Nursing Education

Gerontological Advanced Practice Nurses Association


Dr. Carolyn Clevenger was elected President-elect of the Gerontologica Advanced Practice Nurses Association

Woodruff Scholar Early Independence Award


Dr. Chuck Downs was selected as the 2014 Woodruff Scholar Early Independance Award from the Woodruff Health Sciences Center

American Heart Association Fellow


Dr. Faye Routledge was elected as a Fellow into the American Heart Association

American Academy of Nursing Fellowship 


Dr. Tami Thomas and Dr. Melissa Pinto were inducted into the American Academy of Nursing Fellows, one of the highest honors in nursing

American Academy of Nurse Practitioners 


Dr. Carolyn Clevenger and Dr. Suzanne Staebler were inducted into the American Association of Nurse Practitioners - one of the highest honors for nurse practitioners