Distinguished Faculty

School of Nursing Building

Our students are taught by the best and brightest faculty who are recognized for being experts in the field of nursing.

School of Nursing faculty include:

  • 37 American Academy of Nursing Fellows
  • 2 National Academy of Medicine Fellows
  • 7 American College of Midwives Fellows
  • 8 American Association of Nurse Practitioner Fellows
  • 5 Atlanta Business Chronicl Heath Care Heroes
  • 5 March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Recipients
  • 4 Sigma Theta Tau International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame Award Winners 
  • 1 Georgia Professor of the Year Award Winner 

Recent Recognition

Oncology Nursing Society

Jan. 2018

Prof. Deborah Watkins-Bruner selected to receive the 2018 Oncology Nursing Society Rose Mary Carroll-Johnson Distinguished Award for Consistent Contribution to Nursing Literature.

Florida State University Alumni Association

Nov. 2017

Sandra Dunbar, PhD, RN, received the Grads Made Good Award for distinguished alumni.

March of Dimes Georgia

Nov. 2017

Three Emory Nursing faculty members earned top honors from the March of Dimes of Georgia at the organization’s 2017 Nurse of the Year Awards.

Among the winners were Erin Ferranti (Community Health Award Winner), Jennifer Adamski(Critical Care Award Winner) and Janice Withycombe (Pediatric Award Winner).

American Public Health Association Latino CaucusNov. 2017Clinical Professor Judy Wold was honored as a Local Award Winner in the "Institution" category from the American Public Health Association Latino Caucus for her work with the Migrant Farm Worker Family Health Project. 
American Association of Nurse Anesthetists FoundationOct. 2017Kelly L. Wiltse Nicely, Program Director in Nurse Anesthesia, along with a group of researchers, were awarded the John F. Garde Researcher of the Year Award by the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists Foundation. 
healthcareers.comAug. 2017Assistant Professor Imelda Reyes, program coordinator for the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing pediatric nurse practitioner-primary/acute care programs, was named one of the "Nurse Practitioners You Must Follow on Twitter."
Friends of the National Institute of Nursing ResearchAug. 2017Assistant Professor Canhua Xiao named the Friends of the National Institute of Nursing Research’s (FNINR) Protegee Award winner.
American Association of Critical Care NursesJune 2017Assistant Clinical Professor and Adult Gerontology Acute Care Program Director Jennifer Adamski, DNP, CCRN, who was appointed to the 2017-2018 board.
American Association of Nurse Practitioners June 2017Dr. Ursula Kelly will be inducted into the 2017 fellowship class.
American Association of Nurse Practitioners June 2016Drs. Lisa Muirhead and Rasheeta Chandler-Coley inducted into 2016 Fellowship class
Sigma Theta Tau InternationalJuly 2016Drs. Deborah Bruner, Elizabeth Corwin, and Linda McCauley are inducted into the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame.
American Society for Radiation Oncology Sept 2016Dr. Deborah Bruner's abstract, NRG Oncology/RTOG 0415, Phase 3 Noninferiority Study Comparing 2 Fractionation Schedules in Patients with Low-Risk Prostate Cancer:
Prostate Specific Quality of Life Results, is selected for plenary session of 58th conference and wins "Best of ASTRO" Awrard.
American Academy of NursingOct 2016Drs. Sharon Close, Jennifer Foster, Patricia Riley, Suzanne Staebler, Holly Ann Williams, Kathryn Wood, and Kate Yeager are inducted into the 2016 fellowship class. 

National Academy of Medicine 

Oct 2016

Dr. Deborah Bruner is elected to the National Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine). 

March of Dimes of Georgia

Nov 2016

Drs. Rasheeta Chandler-Coley and Suzanne Staebler are selected for Nurse of the Year Awards in Informatics, Research & Evidence-Based Practice and Academic Education categories, respectively.

American College of Nurse-Midwives


Dr. MaryJane Lewitt was inducted as a Fellow of the ACNM

J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board


Dr. Jenny Foster received the William J. Fulbright Award 

American Association of Nurse Practitioners


Dr. Dian Evans was inducted into the AANP

American Association of Critical-Care Nurses


Dr. Ann Rogers received the Pioneering Spirit Award from the AACN

Oncology Nursing Society


Dr. Deborah Watkins Bruner was named the Oncology Nursing Society's 2015 Distinguished Nurse Researcher

Southern Nursing Research Society


Dr. Elizabeth Corwin received the SNRS Distinguished Researcher Award and Dr. Bonnie Jennings received the inaugural Research in Nursing & Health Authorship award

March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Award


Dr. Elizabeth Corwin was selected as a March of Dimes Nurse of the Year in the academic education category

National League for Nursing


Dr. Elizabeth Downes was inducted into the National League for Nursing's Academy of Nursing Education

Gerontological Advanced Practice Nurses Association


Dr. Carolyn Clevenger was elected President-elect of the Gerontologica Advanced Practice Nurses Association

Woodruff Scholar Early Independence Award


Dr. Chuck Downs was selected as the 2014 Woodruff Scholar Early Independance Award from the Woodruff Health Sciences Center

American Heart Association Fellow


Dr. Faye Routledge was elected as a Fellow into the American Heart Association

American Academy of Nursing Fellowship 


Dr. Tami Thomas and Dr. Melissa Pinto were inducted into the American Academy of Nursing Fellows, one of the highest honors in nursing

American Academy of Nurse Practitioners 


Dr. Carolyn Clevenger and Dr. Suzanne Staebler were inducted into the American Association of Nurse Practitioners - one of the highest honors for nurse practitioners